What Is Arjuna Award?

Are you curious to know what is arjuna award? You have come to the right place as I am going to tell you everything about arjuna award in a very simple explanation. Without further discussion let’s begin to know what is arjuna award?

The Arjuna Award stands as a testament to the dedication, skill, and excellence exhibited by athletes in the realm of Indian sports. In this article, we delve into the origins, significance, and notable aspects of the Arjuna Award, shedding light on its winners, benefits, and its esteemed place in the Indian sporting landscape.

What Is Arjuna Award?

The Arjuna Award is one of India’s highest honors bestowed upon athletes for their outstanding achievements in various sports disciplines. Named after the legendary archer Arjuna from the Indian epic Mahabharata, this award symbolizes precision, strength, and sporting prowess.

What Is Arjuna Award Winners List:

The list of Arjuna Award winners is extensive and diverse, featuring accomplished athletes from various sports. From cricketers to wrestlers, the Arjuna Award has celebrated excellence across the sporting spectrum.

What Is Arjuna Award Winners:

Arjuna Award winners are athletes who have showcased exceptional skills, sportsmanship, and consistency in their respective sports. The award recognizes their dedication to their craft and their significant contributions to Indian sports.

What Is Arjuna Award In India:

In the Indian context, the Arjuna Award is a governmental recognition, presented annually by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. This award aims to motivate athletes to continue striving for excellence and serves as an acknowledgment of their hard work and achievements.

Who Got First Arjuna Award:

The first Arjuna Award was conferred upon the legendary Indian athlete, Limba Ram, in the year 1961-62. Limba Ram excelled in archery, embodying the spirit of the award named after the great archer Arjuna.

Arjuna Award Cash Prize:

Apart from the honor and recognition, Arjuna Award winners receive a cash prize along with a bronze statue of Arjuna and a certificate. The cash prize amount has varied over the years, reflecting the government’s commitment to encouraging sporting excellence.

Arjuna Award Benefits:

Winning the Arjuna Award comes with a plethora of benefits, including increased visibility, opportunities for endorsements, and enhanced prospects for the athlete’s career. It also serves as an inspiration for aspiring athletes across the nation.

1st Arjuna Award Winner Female:

The first female recipient of the Arjuna Award was Gargi Banerji, an accomplished swimmer, who received the honor in 1961-62. Her achievements set the stage for the recognition of female athletes in India.

Arjuna Award Started In Which Year:

The Arjuna Award was instituted in the year 1961 by the Government of India. Since then, it has become a prestigious accolade, motivating athletes to push their limits and contribute to the growth of Indian sports on the global stage.


The Arjuna Award, with its rich history and tradition, stands as a beacon of recognition for Indian athletes who have excelled in their respective fields. As the list of winners continues to grow, so does the legacy of this prestigious award, inspiring generations of sports enthusiasts across the nation.


What Do You Mean By Arjuna Award?

Arjuna Award is India’s highest sporting award bestowed by the Government of India (Ministry of youth affairs and sports) to sportspersons for their outstanding performance in international as well as national events and also hold leadership qualities with good morals.

Who Got First Arjuna Award?

Answer: In 1961 Arjuna Award was presented to six sportspersons. The first recipient of the Arjuna Award in archery was awarded to Krishna Das in the field of archery. Krishna Das (born in May 23, 1959, in Kolkata) is a former Indian archer who won a slew of accolades at the state and national levels.

Who Qualifies To Receive The Arjuna Award?

Eligibility: A sportsperson should have displayed outstanding performance at the International level for four years. The shown qualities of leadership, sportsmanship, and a sense of discipline.

Did Dhoni Get Arjuna Award?

MS Dhoni didn’t get the Arjuna Award, yes. He got the higher award, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, in 2007 which is the highest sporting honour in India.

I Have Covered All The Following Queries And Topics In The Above Article

What Is Arjuna Award Winners List

What Is Arjuna Award Winners

What Is Arjuna Award In India

Who Got First Arjuna Award

Arjuna Award Cash Prize

Arjuna Award Benefits

1st Arjuna Award Winner Female

Arjuna Award Started In Which Year

What Is Arjuna Award